ALC Review: My Monticello by Jocelyn Nicole Johnson

Tough-minded, vulnerable, and brave, Jocelyn Nicole Johnson’s precisely imagined debut explores burdened inheritances and extraordinary pursuits of belonging. United by the characters’ relentless struggles against reality and fate, My Monticello is a formidable book that bears witness to this country’s legacies and announces the arrival of a wildly original new voice in American fiction.  I’ve had... Continue Reading →

ALC Review: Light From Uncommon Stars by Ryka Aoki

Good Omens meets The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet in this defiantly joyful adventure set in California's San Gabriel Valley, with cursed violins, Faustian bargains, and queer alien courtship over fresh-made donuts.Shizuka Satomi made a deal with the devil: to escape damnation, she must entice seven other violin prodigies to trade their souls for success. She... Continue Reading →

Book Review: One Life, One Incarnation – Beautiful Bones by Mo Bao Fei Bao

Beautiful bones. Rare in this world. Those with bone do not have skin. Those with skin do not have bone. Most people’s eyes are shallow, seeing only the skin-deep appearance and not the ‘bones,’ the appearance of the inside.” The “bones” and “skin” are metaphorical and taken from an ancient text in which these are... Continue Reading →

[Blog Tour] Spotlight: American Betiya by Anuradha D. Rajurkar

Fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson will identify with this powerful story of ayoung artist grappling with first love, family boundaries, and the complications of a cross-cultural relationship. Book Title: American Betiya Author: Anuradha D. Rajurkar Publisher: Knopf Books/ Penguin Random House Release date: March 9, 2020 Genres: Young adult, contemporary, romance,... Continue Reading →

[Blog Tour] ARC Review: First Comes Like by Alisha Rai

The author of The Right Swipe and Girl Gone Viral returns with a story about finding love in all the wrong inboxes... Release Date: February 16, 2021 Genre: Adult, contemporary, romance, fiction Publisher: Avon Beauty expert and influencer Jia Ahmed has her eye on the prize: conquering the internet today, the entire makeup industry tomorrow, and finally, finally proving... Continue Reading →

ARC Review: Make Up Break Up by Lily Menon

Love, romance, second chances, fairy-tale endings…these are the things Annika Dev believes in. Her app, Make Up, has been called the “Google Translate for failing relationships.”High efficiency break-ups, flashy start-ups, penthouses, fast cars…these are the things Hudson Craft believes in. His app, Break Up, is known as the “Uber for break-ups.” It’s wildly successful—and anathema... Continue Reading →

ARC Review: Ink and Shadows by Ellery Adams

Nora Pennington is known for her window displays, and as Halloween approaches, she decides to showcase fictional heroines like Roald Dahl’s Matilda and Madeline Miller’s Circe. A family-values group disapproves of the magical themes, though, and wastes no time launching a modern-day witch hunt. Suddenly, former friends and customers are targeting not only Nora and... Continue Reading →

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: