Book Review: Down Comes the Night by Allison Saft

He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness.Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: she’s been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated from her best friend—the girl she loves. So when a letter arrives from a reclusive lord, asking Wren to come to his estate,... Continue Reading →

Book Review: Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo

Seventeen-year-old Lily Hu can't remember exactly when the question took root, but the answer was in full bloom the moment she and Kathleen Miller walked under the flashing neon sign of a lesbian bar called the Telegraph Club.America in 1954 is not a safe place for two girls to fall in love, especially not in... Continue Reading →

[Blog Tour] Spotlight: American Betiya by Anuradha D. Rajurkar

Fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson will identify with this powerful story of ayoung artist grappling with first love, family boundaries, and the complications of a cross-cultural relationship. Book Title: American Betiya Author: Anuradha D. Rajurkar Publisher: Knopf Books/ Penguin Random House Release date: March 9, 2020 Genres: Young adult, contemporary, romance,... Continue Reading →

ARC Review: Rise of the Red Hand by Olivia Chadha

The South Asian Province is split in two. Uplanders lead luxurious lives inside a climate-controlled biodome, dependent on technology and gene therapy to keep them healthy and youthful forever. Outside, the poor and forgotten scrape by with discarded black-market robotics, a society of poverty-stricken cyborgs struggling to survive in slums threatened by rising sea levels,... Continue Reading →

Graphic Novel Review: March – Book One by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin and Nate Powell

March is a vivid first-hand account of John Lewis’ lifelong struggle for civil and human rights, meditating in the modern age on the distance traveled since the days of Jim Crow and segregation. Rooted in Lewis’ personal story, it also reflects on the highs and lows of the broader civil rights movement. Book One spans... Continue Reading →

Audiobook Review: The Dark Fantastic by Ebony Elizabeth Thomas

The Dark Fantastic is an engaging and provocative exploration of race in popular youth and young adult speculative fiction. Grounded in her experiences as YA novelist, fanfiction writer, and scholar of education, Thomas considers four black girl protagonists from some of the most popular stories of the early 21st century: Bonnie Bennett from the CW’s... Continue Reading →

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: